SDAS Kershope Race Report

Slightly late but better late than never. What an amazing weekend!

Team Bentley was slightly nervous prior to racing as we had heard that some dogs with sensitive feet might not like the surface however Bentley seemed to have no issues and absolutely loved the weekend I think this photo shows how much we love running together.

23435175_1895661350451279_2155757937150394750_n

Day 1: 

After arriving around 10pm the night before we had a fairly restful night within our trusted mini camper.  I decided to take the course as I found it on day 1 and wow, from the startline we were 1km uphill but Bentley was on fire and pulled his heart out for me. As we got to the top we were passed by Elaine a very speedy cani-crosser. Bentley then pulled me harder down the hill which to begin with I was worried but let my legs go and we were literally flying.

Kershope Race Elevation

After this the course then took another uphill stint as seen by my strava photo above. We were working so well as a team Bentley began to tire at about 3k but I was so proud of him he still maintained pace in front and I didn’t have to carry his line like I did at Sherwood. We came across the line on day 1 in 15:35 and over a hilly course I thought was amazing.

After all our injury issues from both sides and 6 months ago never believing that as a team we could run faster than we have ever ran before. When we crossed the line everyone could see how thrilled we were and how happy and proud I was of Bentley and how happy he is running properly again.

Day 2:

After a fun filled evening with friends (especially learning how to play Spoons in Gilli’s caravan :D) and a good night sleep. Day 2 brought cooler weather which we were extremely happy with.

After doing our usual routine of harness soaking and hydration I jogged Bentley down to the start hoping for a similar run to the day before little did I know what Bentley had in store.

Typical crazy dog whilst the other cani-crossers began their race but as soon as we got to the start it was as if Bentley was waiting for the 3, 2, 1.. Go. Once again he was amazing pulling his sack of tatties up the massive hill 😀

Once at the top I let my legs go and even though we couldn’t see anyone Bentley maintained a slight pull (I think he was being considerate of his mum being a scaredy cat downhill). He kept going and I thought he would do his usual and get to 3k and begin to tire, he eased off slightly but after a few seconds he began a pull again and was loving it.

I couldn’t believe it we crossed the line in 15:18 quicker than yesterday I didn’t think we could have run that much quicker. This was also the first race using his new custom made H-back harness from SASS dog equipment (Bentley seems comfy and running very well in it).

Kershope Results

Team Bentley came away with 2nd place and silver medal for the weekend and I think he was chuffed with his prizes.

Since taking Bentley to the doggy chiropractor and hydrotherapy sessions it is amazing what it could do. He is a different dog and we are definitely running faster than we have ever run, very excited to see what is in store after a few good races.

He loves cani-cross and its beautiful to see him enjoying it again.

23380041_1895648710452543_7015531986786029571_n

Leave a comment